20% polling registered in 4 Bihar Lok Sabha seats

20% polling registered in 4 Bihar Lok Sabha seats

Voting began on Thursday morning in 91 constituencies across 18 states and two union territories as the Lok Sabha elections 2019 first phase kicked off.

Voting is also underway in 175 assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh, 32 in Sikkim, 57 in Arunachal Pradesh and 28 seats in Odisha.

Lone Lok Sabha seats going to polls on April 11 include Mizoram, Tripura, Manipur, Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar, and Lakshadweep. So far the Congress candidates list for the 2019 elections has 27 new faces contesting for 23 assembly seats and 4 Lok Sabha seats. Counting will be done on May 23.

The much-awaited Phase I of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections are here. At more than half a dozen villages in Gaya, Jamui and Nawada, people boycotted polls for lack of roads, schools, and health centres.

Herrera to join PSG despite late Manchester United contract offer
Jackson reports that Herrera has been unimpressed with the speed at which the club has been negotiating a new deal with him. Speaking with Diario ABC last weekend, the Spaniard said: "As it is right now, Manchester and I are not thinking alike".

Taiwan abuzz with tale of live bees feeding on woman's eye
The woman was diagnosed with cellulitis, a bacterial skin infection, and severe corneal erosion caused by the tiny insects. While the bees are commonplace, doctors stress it's extraordinarily rare for the insects to slide under someone's eyelid.

BJP MLA Bheema Mandavi killed in Naxal attack in Chhattisgarh
Attacks on Indian forces by jungle-based Maoist units are frequent and often deadly in Chhattisgarh, a poor and restive state. Five people have been killed after a Bharatiya Janta Party convoy was attacked in Chattisgarh's Dantewada by Naxals.

Two seats each in West Bengal, Jammu and Kashmir and Meghalaya will see polling in the first phase. Of Maharashtra's 48 constituencies, voting in the first phase is happening in seven constituencies of Vidharbha, with the focus on Nagpur - the headquarters of the RSS - and Chandrapur, the hometown of its chief Mohan Bhagwat.

Assam's Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur are voting today, besides Odisha's Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput, and Chhattisgarh's Bastar.

The fate of 52 candidates will be decided by over 78 lakh voters of the state, where all the five seats - Tehri, Pauri, Haridwar, Almora and Nainital - are being held by the BJP.

There are a total of 14.21 crore electors in phase 1, among which 7.22 crore are male and 8.99 crores are female.

Related Articles