1st-year starting QB will win Heisman

1st-year starting QB will win Heisman

Murray beat out Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa on 56 ballots submitted by AP college football poll voters and announced Thursday.

During the show, ESPN interviewed both Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray and Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa to preview the Heisman Trophy ceremony. This is the sixth time in the past 15 seasons that different quarterbacks took home the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards, and in four of the previous five times the Heisman went to the O'Brien victor. Tagovailoa and Murray will be joined by Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins as finalists.

Tagovailoa is Alabama's second Walter Camp Award victor, joining running back Derrick Henry in 2015.

Earlier this week, Tagovailoa was named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year.

Satellite images show expansion, activity at two North Korean missile bases
"Satellite images show that the base remains active", an institute report states, CNN reported . US officials did not immediately comment on the open-source findings by researchers.

Can save $5.11 trillion in healthcare costs if climate change goals met
Due to India's growing economy, India's emissions grew by 6.3% and is expected to touch 2.62 billion tonnes, the report says. Between 2014 and 2016, emissions remained largely flat, leading to hopes that the world was beginning to turn a corner.

Saudi, Russia leave world guessing after OPEC meeting
Nonetheless, Saudi Arabia is in a delicate position, in the wake of the murder of opposition journalist Jamal Khashoggi . OPEC meets on Thursday in Vienna , followed by talks with allies such as Russian Federation on Friday.

The last five Walter Camp winners won the Heisman Trophy and the last four Maxwell winners have won the Heisman. Murray, who batted.296 with 10 home runs and 13 doubles in 50 games as the Sooners' center fielder, signed for almost $5 million, with the A's agreeing to let him return to school and play football this season.

Behind Murray, the University of Oklahoma has the top rated offense in the country, averaging over 8 yard per play. And only five Heisman winners have failed to win AP Player of the Year since the award started in 1998.

Tagovailoa picked up where he left off in the second half of last season's national championship game victory against Georgia to lead the top-ranked Crimson Tide back to the playoff. Jackson won the Heisman that season.

But, after an electrifying season that saw Murray eviscerate opposing defenses on his way to becoming a Heisman Trophy finalist, the 21-year-old might be eyeing a more exclusive path.

Related Articles